Blog 5 – Editing – Portraits

Indian20130209_0116

Image

1. Portrait Enhancement; 2/10/13, 10:30 p.m.; Rexburg, ID; f/4.5; 1/60; Nikon D5100; Contrast, Blacks, Air Brushing, Eyes, Adjustment Layer Solid Fill Overlay

I set up a makeshift studio in my apartment using a brown Snuggie as a backdrop and a lamp with lampshade for my light source. I wanted to get some cool portraits, and I thought this Native American-themed makeup would be a cool way to bring out my wife’s eyes. I started editing by adjusting the contrast, spot healing the imperfections and then Dodging and Burning her eyes to help make them pop. I then used the Brush tool (at 20% O 35% F) on her forehead, cheek and neck to give it a softer glow. I also used the brush to matte the makeup so it didn’t have a glare or shine. The last thing I did was add a new adjustment layer overlay fill with a solid color. This light orange color really helped enhance the color of her hair and the red makeup across her eyes.

Image Image

2. Replace Color; 2/10/13, 10:30 p.m.; Rexburg, ID; f/4.2; 1/250; Nikon D5100; Brightness, Contrast

I used the Lasso tool to select only the red outline of the bass guitar and then adjusted the hue, saturation and luminosity to get this hideous green color.

Image ImageImage

3. Match Color; 2/10/13, 10:30 p.m.; Rexburg, ID; f/4.2; 1/250; Nikon D5100

I thought the original (second picture) was a little dark, so I Color Matched it with the third picture, which resulted in a little bit better exposure on the final result (first picture).

One thought on “Blog 5 – Editing – Portraits

  1. Nice Job on your portraits. I loved the lighting on the very first one you had, really liked it. Also really liked the one where she is sitting on the steps. I really like how they are all composed. I really like how you did your enhancements as well. For your enhancements I am think for the first one the top on it the finished one? If so I really like how it turned out. Only thing that might make it stronger is to maybe give the hair on the top back side a little bit of light to make it stand out from the background more.

Leave a comment